Karnataka Neurosciences Academy

Minutes of the Executive Committee Meeting 11th January 2020, Belagavi

Annual Executive Committee Meeting of Karnataka Neuroscience Academy was held on 11th January 2020 at KLE Convention Centre, JNMC campus Belagavi at 1.30pm.

Following members attended the meeting:

- Dr. T. C. Yasha, President
- Dr. G. T. Subhash, President Elect
- Dr. B. P. Mrutyunjayanna, Immediate Past President
- Dr. A. O. Saroja, Honorary Secretary
- Dr. Narayana Panji, Treasurer
- Dr. S. Harsha, EC member
- Dr. H. Guruprasad, EC member
- Dr. Anirudh Kulkarni, EC member
- Dr. K. N. Rajesh, former secretary, KNA (special invitee)
- Dr. K. Ravishankar Naik, Organising Secretary, KNACON 2020

Dr. Shashank Ramdurg had expressed his inability to attend due to prior commitment.

Welcome Note:

1. Dr. T. C. Yasha, President of Karnataka Neurosciences Academy welcomed all the executive committee members

2. Confirmation of minutes of previous midterm KNA meeting

 Secretary Dr. A. O. Saroja read the minutes of the previous midterm meeting held at KLE Centenary Convention Centre, Belagavi on 11th August 2019 at 1.30 pm. Minutes were proposed by Dr. Guruprasad and seconded by Dr. S. Harsha.

3. Secretary action taken report for 2019

- Dr Saroja informed the members about the election that was conducted for the post of President Elect 2019-2020 (President for 2020-2021). Dr G. T. Subhash was the sole applicant and was declared elected for the post of President Elect Karnataka Neuroscience Academy by the Returning Officer and President of Karnataka Neuroscience Academy Dr. T. C. Yasha. Dr. G. T. Subhash was informed the results of election by email and the changes in the executive committee of the KNA were posted online in the KNA website.
- She also informed that Karnataka Neuroscience Academy has agreed to endorse Indian National Stroke Conference 2020 to be held in March 2020.
- Secretary informed the members about the upcoming elections for the post of Secretary, Treasurer, President Elect and EC members of Karnataka Neuroscience

Academy. She informed that emails have been sent to all the KNA members. The information has also been posted on Karnataka Neuroscience Academy website in December 2019.

 Applications have been invited for the upcoming 11th KNA annual conference in 2021. Information has been sent via E mail and has been posted in the KNA website. It was proposed by Dr. S. Harsha seconded by Dr. Narayana Panji.

4. Treasurer's report

- Dr. Narayan Panji read the treasurer's report. He tried to clarify the queries put forth by Dr. H. V. Srinivas during the previous midterm meeting. He informed that a new account has to be opened as current account instead of the present savings bank account. He also informed that Dr. Dugani and Dr. M. V. V. Satyanarayana had contributed Rs. 100,000 and 50,000 respectively to the Karnataka Neuroscience Academy from the proceedings of previous conferences.
- As there is a formation of new office bearers of the KNA, it was decided that the new treasurer should take up further actions regarding change of type of account. The application for the new current account in the state bank of India at Shimoga was signed.
- Dr. Rajesh K. N. accepted to become new treasurer if there were no applications for the post of treasurer.
- Dr. G. T. Subhash, President Elect KNA informed the members that the contributions generated from conference and submitted to the KNA should be used in part in the next one year.
- It was decided to hike up the Prize money for the free paper and Poster to Rs. 5,000/and Rs. 3,000/- from existing amount of Rs.3000 and Rs. 2000 respectively.
- Treasurer's report was proposed by Dr. Anirudh Kulkarni and seconded by Dr. A. O. Saroja.

5. Karnataka Neuroscience Academy elections 2021

- Dr. Saroja, Secretary Karnataka Neuroscience Academy informed that there were no applications received for the post of President elect, Treasurer, Secretary and Executive Committee members of KNA.
- Dr. Mrutyunjayanna suggested that the existing members may continue for another term as there were no applications till 11th January 2020. However, it was decided to wait till the last date and request the members during General Body Meeting to apply for the above posts.

6. Update on Karnataka Neuroscience Academy Conference 2020

1. Dr. K. Ravishankar Naik, Organising Secretary for KNACON 2020 informed that the Preconference EEG workshop was conducted on 10th January 2020. One hundred

delegates from different parts of India participated in the workshop. It was conducted by renowned Epileptologist Dr. Ashalatha and her team. Interactive sessions and didactic lectures were held and were appreciated by the delegates.

- 160 delegates had registered for the KNACON 2020 that was conducted on 11th and 12th January 2020 at KLE Centenary Convention Centre. Thirty-five abstracts had been submitted for presentation in the conference out of which 14 were selected for platform presentation (2 parallel sessions of 7 abstracts each) and the remaining 23 were designated for Poster presentation.
- 3. Executive Committee expressed satisfaction and appreciated the arrangements made for the conference and the workshop.

7. Venue for KNACON2021

• There were no applications for **KNACON2021**. Dr. Harsha was requested to host the conference at Mysuru in 2021.

8. Any other matter with the permission of the Chair

- Dr. G. T. Subhash suggested that the Academy should hold CME and workshops at different places of Karnataka on rotation.
- He felt the newsletter of the Academy can be started and necessary work to be initiated after considering the feasibilities.
- Dr. G. T. Subhash informed that the annual reports and the audited balance sheet of the KNA should be submitted to the Registrar of the Societies where the academy was registered. He also informed to check whether the KNA is registered as Charitable or Non-Charitable institution.
- Secretary was asked to speak to Dr. Suresh Dugani who was involved in registering the Karnataka Neurosciences Academy.

9. Vote of Thanks

• Dr. Saroja, Secretary KNA thanked Dr. Yasha for all her contributions to the Academy she also thanked the past President, President Elect, Treasurer, EC members, Special invitee and local Organising Secretary of KNACON2020.

Dr. A O Saroja

Honorary Secretary, KNA