KARNATAKA NEUROSCIENCES ACADEMY

Minutes of the KNA Executive Committee Meeting held during KNACON 2014 at Anatomy Lecture Hall, Shimoga Institute of Medical Sciences, Shimogga on 15.2.2014 at 1 PM

It was attended by the following members.

- Dr. Satishchandra, President KNA
- Dr. H V Srinivas, Immediate Past President KNA
- Dr. Rajesh K N, Secretary KNA
- Dr. Narayan Panji, KNA EC member
- Dr. A S Hegde, Special Invite

Regrets : Dr. B A Chandramouli, Dr. Vani Santosh, Dr. Datta Nadgir & Dr. Prashanth Katakol expressed their inability to attend the meeting

The Minutes of the meeting is as follows

- **1. Welcome by the President Dr P Satishchandra** President Dr. P Satishchandra welcomed the members.
- 2. Confirmation of Minutes previous EC Meeting held on 11.2.2012 at Mysore

Minutes of the previous EC Meeting were read by Secretary Dr K N Rajesh. This was approved Proposed by Dr H V Srinivas and seconded by Dr Narayan Panji

3. Report by secretary - Dr K N Rajesh

KNACON 2013 was held at NIMHANS Convention Centre on 15.6.2013 & 16.6.2013. It was hosted by Narayana Hrudayalaya Institute of Neurosciences under the Chairmanship of Dr. Thimappa Hegde. Dr. Thimappa Hegde agreed to contribute Rs.50,000 towards the corpus of KNA from the proceeds of KNACON 2013. KNA has received a contribution of Rs.50,000 from the proceeds of KNACON 2012 held at Mysore. The last midterm meeting of KNA was held at Shimogga on 10.11.2013 at Hotel Jewel Rock. Total nos of members in KNA is 98. Secretary's report was proposed by Dr. P Satish Chandra & approved by Dr. H.V Srinivas.

4. Report by Treasurer- Dr.Datta Nadgir

Treasurer's report was read by the Secretary of KNA in his absence. KNA SBI bank account at Hubli had 3 Fixed Deposits - Rs. 1 lakhs (5 years), Rs. 50,000 + Rs. 50,000 for 3 years each. Bank balance is Rs.1,30,000. Teasurer's report was proposed by Dr. H V Srinivas & seconded by Dr. Narayan Panji.

• Announcement of results of the Elections for the Office Bearers of KNA for the year 2014-2015

Dr. H V Srinivas, returning officer for the election announced the results of the Elections. The Following were elected Unopposed. President – Dr. A S Hegde 2014-15 President Elect – Dr. I G Bhat 2014-15 Secretary – Dr. K. N Rajesh 2014-16 Treasurer – Dr. Narayan Panji 2014-16

E.C Members (2014-16) Dr. B S Keshava Kaushik Neurology Dr. Rajesh Shetty Neurology Dr. Prashanth Balappa Katakol Neurosurgery Dr. S P Baliger Neurosurgery Dr. Anita Mahadevan Allied Specialities

6. Update on ongoing KNACON 2014 was presented by Dr. Sivaramakrishna, Organizing Chairman

Preconference workshop of KNACON 2014 was attended by more than 100 delegates which included Physicians & Post graduates of Neurology & Neurosurgery. It was held at Nanjappa Life care Hospital with free registration for all the delegates. Preconference workshop included Live Spine Surgery by Dr. Sushil Patkar from Pune, Intervention Neurology work shop by Dr. Vikram Huded, Narayana Institute of Neurosciences, Botox Injection Session by Dr. L.K Prashanth, BGS Global Hospital & Dr. Rakshit, Manipal Hospital, Neurosonology Workshop by Dr. Lokesh & Nerve Conduction Study workshop by Dr. Ravishankar , JNN Medical College, Belegaum. There was Hands-On cadaveric Dissection by Dr. Komal Prasad, Narayana Institute & Dr. Arun Naik, Apollo Hospital. There were a total of 400 registrations for KNACON 2014, which included 120 Delegates from Neurosciences. Further KNACON 2014 was recognized by KMC with 5 hours of credit.

6. Venue for KNACON 2015

The venue for KNACON 2015 was proposed as Manipal, Mangalore. Dr. I G Bhat accepted to be the chairperson & Dr. Rakshit will be the Organizing Secretary. February 21& 22, 2015 (Sat, Sunday) were the tentative dates. Feb 20 can be the Preconference Workshop. The venue planned was TMA Pai Convention Centre which can accommodate more than 300 delegates.

The following guidelines were suggested for future KNACON.

The Scientific Committee of KNACON 2015 will decide on the content of the programme. Hosts of KNACON 2015 can decide on the content of Preconference workshop. The Presidential Oration during KNACON will be held on Day-1 of KNACON in the morning Post tea. It will be for 30 mins including 5 mins of Introduction & Felicitation each. Inaguration of KNACON should be planned in the evening only which will be followed by Cultural programme & Dinner. The seating arrangement for the Inauguration on the dias should include – Chairman of KNACON, Secretary of KNA (To present Annual Report of KNA), President of KNA, Chief Guest, Organizing Secretary of KNACON, Guest of Honour. Audited statement for KNACON should be given to KNA by the hosts within 6 months of completion of KNACON. The Conference Bank account should be closed after the accounts are audited.

There will be 6 platform presentations of 10mins each (8+2 mins), making it 1 hour. There should

be a dedicated Poster presentation time between 2-3pm. Chairman for Poster & Platform presentation will be selected by the hosts of KNACON. However the Judges for Platform & Poster presentation will be appointed by KNA. There will be cash awards for the best Platform & poster presentation by KNA. The Registration fees for KNACON will be decided by the hosts. Atleast 50% of registration fees will be donated towards the corpus of KNA by the host. The Hosts should organize membership drive for KNA & ensure that all the presenters should be KNA members. President, President Elect, Secretary & Treasurer of KNA should be provided free Accommodation & Registration for KNACON. Rest of the KNA EC members are eligible for free Registration for KNACON.

Midterm Executive Committee meeting of KNA should be held in August to overview the preparations for next KNACON. The hosts of KNACON will bear the travel & Hotel expenses of EC members of KNA for the Midterm EC meeting.

8. Any other matter with the permission of the chair – NIL

9. Vote of thanks to the Hosts and chair

Vote of thanks was proposed to the Hosts and chair.

Dr. Rajesh K.N Secretary KNA 15.2.2014