

Dr. Shivaramakrishna Aroor

Dr. Anita Mahadevan

Immediate Past President

Dr. Guruprasad Hosurkar

President Elect

Dr. Baligar S P

Secretary

Treasurer

Dr. Rajesh K N

Dr. J B AgadI Dr. Satish M

Executive Members

President

Karnataka Neurosciences Academy

Minutes of KNA EC midterm meeting

Held on 28th January 2024, at board room, Sri Siddaganga Medical College, Tumakuru (venue of upcoming KNACON, 2024)

Following members attended the midterm EC meeting

- 1.Dr.Shivaramakrishna Aroor (president)
- 2.Dr.Anitha Mahadevan (president elect)
- 3.Dr.Guruprasad Hosurkar (Secretary)
- 4.Dr.Rajesh KN (Treasurer)
- 5. Dr. Agadi JB(EC member)
- 6.Dr.Raghunandan Nadig (EC member)
- 7.Dr.Sharath kumar GG (EC member)
- 8.Dr.Umashankar (organizing chairman, KNACON 2024 and special invitee)

Dr.Baligar SP (immediate past president, Dr.Satish M (EC member), Dr. Pradeep Kallolimath, (EC member) could not attend the meeting and had conveyed their unavailability well in advance

Dr. Raghunandan Nadig Dr. Sharath Kumar G G

Dr.Pradeep Kallolimath

President, KNA Dr.Shivaramakrishna Aroor welcomed EC members, thanked the local organising committee headed by dr. Umashankar for hosting the midterm EC meeting at Tumukuru and directed the secretary KNA, Dr. Guruprasad Hosurkar to conduct the EC meeting and follow the set agenda of the EC meeting.

1.KNA secretary Dr.Guruprasad Hosurkar welcomed the members for the meeting and initially sought the approval of the EC for minutes of the EC meeting held virually on July 12th 2023. Dr.Agadi JB proposed and dr. Raghunandan Nadig seconded.

Secretary presented the report of the various activities conducted by KNA through the previous 6 months. He mentioned about the successful conduct of KNA webinars about 7 in last 6 months. Teams from Bangalore, Hubballi, Mangalore, Davanagere, Shivamogga, Mysuru, Belagavi presented interesting neurology, neurosurgery, neuroradiology, neuropathology cases on the virtual zoom platform, chaired by senior neurologists, neurosurgeons from across the state. Webinars were well coordinated by the EC members with the help of



Karnataka Neurosciences Academy

Dr. Shivaramakrishna Aroor President

Dr. Anita Mahadevan President Elect

Dr. Baligar S P Immediate Past President

Dr. Guruprasad Hosurkar Secretary

Dr. Rajesh K N Treasurer

Executive Members

Dr. J B AgadI Dr. Satish M

Dr. Raghunandan Nadig Dr. Sharath Kumar G G Dr.Pradeep Kallolimath Hallmark events and supported by industry. Secretary thanked all the teams, coordinators, chairpersons for their efforts. Members expressed the desire to continue the same for the next year and take steps to increase the reach and audience. World stroke day activities done last year under the banner of KNA was informed to the members especially at shivamogga (radio talk, awareness talk to Anganwadi workers by dr. Shivaramakrishna aroor etc) and Bangalore (stroke awareness poster presentation and walkathon at Lalbagh in collaboration with Karnataka stroke foundation). Members appreciated the efforts of the various chapters in taking the lead for the awareness program and expressed the view that awareness of other neurological conditions like traumatic brain injury, epilepsy also need to be highlighted in the community.

Dr.anita Mahadevan proposed and dr.sharath kumar seconded the secretary's report.

KNA treasurer Dr.Rajesh KN presented the treasurer report. Report has been attached with the minutes of the meeting. Process of transfer of KNA account in the SBI bank to Bangalore from Shivamogga has been completed and few KYC steps are pending. Process for creating UPI number for the account has also been activated which will ease paying gateway for the new members or other transactions of the society. Members discussed if the account can be changed to current account, whether certain amount in the savings can be automatically transferred to deposit to earn more interest. Dr.rajesh KN expressed that he will get back after speaking to the bank officials. He also mentioned that contribution from the organising committee of KNACON, 2023 shivamogga towards the KNA will happen after the accounting and tax related issues are settled.

Dr.shivaramakrishna aroor proposed and dr. Guruprasad Hosurkar seconded the treasurer's report.

Dr.Umashankar, organising chairman of KNACON, 2024, tumakuru (7th – 9th June 2024) presented the status of the preparations of the upcoming conference, broad framework of the scientific sessions, availability of the hotel accommodation for the attending faculty and delegates, preconference event planned, possible awareness Talks during the conference. Dr. Umashankar and his team with the superintendent of the siddaganga medical college hospital took the members around the college premises and showed the venue of the conference, including the halls for the scientific sessions, free paper presentation, exhibition stalls for the industry, lunch and snack area. Members were impressed and satisfied with the facilities including the inbuilt



Karnataka Neurosciences Academy

Dr. Shivaramakrishna Aroor President

Dr. Anita Mahadevan President Elect

Dr. Baligar S P Immediate Past President

Dr. Guruprasad Hosurkar Secretary

Dr. Rajesh K N Treasurer

Executive Members

Dr. J B AgadI Dr. Satish M

Dr. Raghunandan Nadig Dr. Sharath Kumar G G

Dr.Pradeep Kallolimath

audiovisuals in the seminar halls available for the conference. Dr.Umashankar also mentioned about the plan to have banquet on the second day in another place nearby which has being spoken to the authorities. EC members wished the upcoming conference all the best and suggested some housekeeping tips in case of rains during the time of conference if any outdoor activities like lunch or banquet is being planned.

There was a consensus that good representation to be given to all the districts across the state as speakers, faculty and judges for deciding award papers etc during the conference. EC also felt that the active involvement of physicians, post graduates from the medical colleges in tumakuru will be essential for the success of the conference and local organising committee has already committed to that. EC was also informed about the proposed brain quiz for the undergraduates and postgraduates from the local medical colleges during the conference as part of the engagement. Free paper presentation and E-posters will be also part of the conference scientific deliberations apart from presidential oration and CPC. Local organising committee was also told about the arrangements to be made for the AGM of KNA to be held during the conference.

Miscellaneous topics were taken for discussion with the permission of the chair. Steps to get good representation from all the districts/regions of Karnataka on the EC was discussed.

Vote of thanks was proposed by Dr.Guruprasad H, secretary KNA. He thanked all the attending EC members, especially president dr. Shivaramakrishna Aroor for chairing the meeting, Dr. Umashankar and local organising committee for hosting the midterm EC meeting at tumakuru.

Dr. Guruprasad H

Secretary KNA